original cabin
old admin bldg

See the Rotary Youth Camp's Progress over the years

  • 1923—Land purchased by Bob and Clara Gees
  • 1924—Construction of the camp began
  • 1925—First camping session held
  • 1928—Land put in trust for use by the Rotary Club for a youth camp and Youth Camp Association formed
  • 1929—Original swimming pool completed
  • 1957—Boy Scouts and Girl Scout held sessions for boys and girls with disabilities
  • 1977-1986— “Project 50” Capital Campaign helped replace or repair all camp structures
  • 1992—Outpost tent camping area developed
  • 1997—Swimming pool replaced
  • 2005—Dining Hall/Kitchen replaced
  • 2007— New “Comfort Station” (Showers and bathrooms) built
  • 2010—Auxiliary tent camping area built
  • 2014—Outpost Storm Shelter built
  • 2016—New siding and windows installed in cabins
  • 2017—Centennial Campaign started to replace Admin & First Aid Buildings
- Since it opened in 1925, more than 300,000 campers have experienced life-changing moments at the Rotary Youth Camp -

Our History

(scroll over to read more)

The original founders, Robert and Clara Gees, acquired the camp’s current location nearly a century ago, and in 1928, the couple placed the land in a trust, granting the Rotary Club of Kansas City exclusive use of it, in perpetuity, for activities that serve youth in need.

The Rotary Club of Kansas City continues to work tirelessly to raise money to maintain and improve the camp facilities, always keeping the needs of the campers—and the legacy of compassion Mr. and Mrs. Gees instilled—a priority

Today’s summer sessions continue the steadfast commitment to groups that serve the physically, emotionally, and mentally disabled youth of Greater Kansas City, many of whom might never otherwise have shared the joy of this unique camping experience.

outpost camper
camper project 50
crowded old dh